The Countdown Begins

It feels official now. I began my leave from work at 5:00 pm today. My projects have been wrapped up or passed on to others’ care for a while. My out-of-office email and voicemail messages have been set. The surgery takes place in three days.

It was nearly impossible to get anything done today, but I can’t complain about the reason. My coworkers kept stopping by to wish me well, to remind me that my dad and I are in their prayers as we go through this kidney transplant surgery, to offer hugs and urge me NOT to worry about anything while I’m away. I’ll worry, but not so much. I won’t have to obsess about things knowing all my coworkers have my back!

There were brownies and cupcakes and cards filled with good wishes. Everyone wanted to know if I’m excited or nervous. (Yes! and YES!) Everyone wants an update as soon as possible and everyone insisted that I relax, take it easy and get to feeling well as soon as possible.

I’m glad that I chose not to go to work on Wednesday. Already as I go about my daily stuff, the surgery and what it will be like continuously crosses my mind. I wouldn’t be able to focus at work the day before the surgery.

The pre-op physicals are tomorrow and my dad and I will go together. Our appointments were scheduled at the same time. I know my dad is even more excited about this than I am. He’s waited so long for this. We’re almost there!

P.S. Lest you think it’s getting too serious around here, I felt the need to remind you that it’s National Cow Appreciation Day. Run out and get your Cow Appreciation cards NOW before the store shelves are picked clean! HURRY!

26 thoughts on “The Countdown Begins

  1. I am right there with you sweetie….always praying for you and your dad. God bless both of you! Who will keep us informed while you are in the hospital? Will someone post and give us updates???? I hope so!

    Many, many blessings!
    Meg

    Like

  2. Rachel – I’m so glad you commented today! Thank you for your support and prayers!

    Meg – I’m not sure anyone will post. My daughter is probably the only one who could figure it out, so I’ll see if she’s interested. Otherwise, I’ll be back home Saturday afternoon, so I’ll update then, ok? Thank you for your prayers and blessings!

    Like

  3. If I would have known it was “Cow Day” I would have tried to have something more “beefy” for dinner…but we got stuck with Spinach Pizza. Ewww!

    Try to hunt down some good books…it may help you pass the time, if that is possible.

    Set up a stash of goodies for someone to “sneak” into the hospital for you.

    We will all be wishing the best for you and your father.

    Like

  4. “Cow Appreciation Day” – good one, Terri!
    Before I had my surgery five years ago -the first one -I gave my girls each a list with e-mail addresses on it and instructions that they were to e-mail those people -to keep them informed how things were going. I had tried to show Mandy how to do this using my computer but she uses hotmail and I download my e-mail to Eudora which she thought was too complicated to use. (Sheesh, if I use it, how darned complicated can it be? Really?) But anyway, that worked pretty well for us then but that was also three years before I got a blog which puts a whole new spin on things doesn’t it? Come to think of it, I probably SHOULD show Mandy how to work with the blog just in case of emergency situations. Passwords can always be changed, can’t they?

    If you’re in need of some good books, e-mail me, tell me what you like -beside Jodi Picoult (I think you’re pretty caught up on hers now aren’t you) and I’ll go through my collection and ship you more than enough reading material to get you through till at least Christmas! Seriously, Terri -you know I’d do that for ya, don’t ‘cha, Kid?
    Peace -try to relax -or at least not get wired for sound anyway between now and then.

    Like

  5. Terri, As I’ve said before, you are in my prayers, you and your dad; saying special prayers for the surgeon(s), wisdom for them and peace for you. Quick healing and without complications, I know you will be fine, we will be waiting to hear the all clear, until then friend you are in my heart!!!

    Like

  6. MTAE – Books are definitely on the agenda. I LOVE to read and don’t find the time often enough to just read a good book!

    Jeni – I may just take you up on the offer for books! That’s so generous of you! I know we have very similar tastes and you described one recently that sounded good. I think the author was Ann Rule.

    Kiki – Thank you, my friend for your sweet words and prayers!

    Like

  7. As I have said before, you are one amazing woman, Terri! The world needs more like you!

    My thoughts and prayers are with you, your dad and your family.

    PS How do you show a cow that you appreciate it? Drink milk? Not have a steak today?

    Like

  8. Happy Cow Day to You!
    Remember that cow pies are best when fresh.

    You and your dad are in our prayers. Good luck and take your time in recovery. From my recent stent in the local infirmary, remember to keep your sense of humor (and try not to piss off the person who will be checking your temperature/vitals at 0200). Just think of all the fabulous cuisine you will have…

    Best wishes and we’ll keep you in our thoughts.

    Like

  9. The town I know live in may actually have cards for the cow occasion. We once passed a sign for the “cowabration” put on by the FFA. The in-laws haven’t let me live that one down.

    Prayers for successful surgery, speedy healing, and the closeness of your family and friends. Enjoy great books, your kids and hubby doing ALL the work, meals you don’t have to cook (or clean up after), all the blogging time you can handle, movies with your kids, complete possession of the remote control, as many naps as you would like, etc.

    I know God has great things in store for you and your family throughout this adventure. Keep looking for them.

    Like

  10. Wow – I can’t believe it’s just days away! I can only imagine the many thoughts and emotions racing through you. You are going to be missed in blogland. Damn, some of us take a break to clear our head or b/c we have writer’s block. You go and take off to donate a whole kidney! Overachiever!

    Just kidding. Listen girlie, you and your dad, and all of your family are in my prayers. The doctors too. You are such a wonderful woman and a devoted daughter. Great things will come of this, for sure. Now you just rest and lay there like a good little patient :) And get everyone to wait on you guys hand and foot.

    Like

  11. The cows! Don’t forget the cows!

    Totally thinking of you this week – you are even on my calendar!!! Best of luck to both you and your dad…I’ll be anxiously awaiting the updates.

    Like

  12. Teri, I wish you and your dad the best of luck. It takes a special person to do something like this, not everyone has the courage to go through this, your dad is so lucky to have a daughter like you :)

    God bless you both

    Like

  13. Thinking of you and keeping you close to my heart. This is such an amazing gift for your dad and it creates such a strong bond between the two of you. Amazing, truly amazing! Love to you! erin

    Like

  14. HAPPY COW APPRECIATION DAY!!! I’m sure the cards went very fast… I mean, it’s such a big holiday! lol.

    I’ve been praying for you, and I’ll continue to pray throughout your surgery and recuperation.

    Like

  15. Happy Cow Day and Good luck. By now I am sure you are knee-deep into your happy hour with the magnesium citrate. Just don’t stray too far from the throne.

    Hey (random thought here) – think they’ll they give you a laptop in the hospital? During my recent gig at Methodist, I lamented on how I was unable to keep up with my latest TerriTerri posting and they ponied up a laptop for me to use…

    We will be thinking of you & your dad and will keep you guys in our prayers. Keep us posted when you can.

    Like

Leave a Reply

