Good things come to those who wait

FINALLY, I have mailed off the prizes to the winners of my first-ever blog contest!

You guys probably thought I was scamming you didn’t you? I promise, I wasn’t. But I did learn a thing or two about holding a blog contest with prizes. I learned it’s probably a really good idea to actually have said prizes in your possession before hosting a contest. But, I HAVE been known to operate with an ass-backwards mentality now and then. And I gave fair warning that the contest WAS a disorganized one.

I wanted to send you guys a meaningful prize. I had an idea of what I wanted to do, but just couldn’t make it happen. I tried really hard to go with something Minnesota themed, but ironically enough, Minnesota themed gift items seem to be in short supply. (I’m sure the Mall of America would have offered something, but I never found the time to make the trip out there.)

Finally, while just wandering around a store, Kacey pointed at something and explained to me how it would always remind you guys of my blog and remind you to count your blessings like I do in my Friday posts. I mulled it over and the more I thought about it, the more I liked the idea.

I hope you enjoy it!

(And for anyone who really wants to see the prizes, I could post pictures after the winners receive their packages. If you really want me to.)

We now return to your regularly scheduled weekend.

11 thoughts on “Good things come to those who wait

  1. I’m thinking about what the Mall of America might look like. That must be the mother of all Shopping Malls I bet it takes up a whole state.

  2. I am on pins and needles.
    Why did I think you were in Florida?
    Is it booze? That would be a life and death staple to keep anyone living in Minnesota(just kidding, don’t go all Viking on me). If you over indulge with it you start to recognize how lucky you are and how much you love those around you and all of your blessings.
    I can’t think of anything Minnesota themed. What does Minnesota produce anyway? Beef? I like beef!

  3. OMGOMGOMG.
    I am so jazzed about getting some genuine Minnesotan stuff. I’m just bummed that I won’t get to see it until next weekend when I get back from my road trip to your neck of the woods. I’m heading out in the morning at the crack of early and looking forward to the cooler weather up there (of course, anything north of here is bound to be cooler). Trying to pack now but cannot find my snow shoes & parka…:)

    Love the suggested ideas (fruitcake, booze, beef). I’d be jonesin for some fresh Walleye…

  4. I’m impressed that you pulled it off. I have no idea what I would send people if I had a contest like that. I’m sure you did good though. You’ll have to show us what you came up with. :)

  5. Pingback: Life is Good - October 31, 2008 « Terri Terri Quite Contrary

Leave a Reply

