I look good for my age, don't I?

I’m 58 years old.

I’m 58 with the strength of a body builder and the balance of a top-heavy toddler.

Yes, the Wii Fit has arrived at our house and it has confirmed for me that in spite of the compulsive nature of my Wii purchase, it was some of the best money ever spent, even if the Wii Fit was going to add sixteen years to my true age.

I was not even out of bed when my husband returned from Target this morning with the Wii Fit I have been coveting but unable to find in stock anywhere.

Yesterday, Mark made several trips to Target for jump drives necessary to transfer files from our ailing PC. Being computer challenged, he nagged me until I agreed to take a good look at it and ended up spending several hours of my Saturday trying to find a remedy for the computer’s sluggish behavior. I think I’m just going to wipe the hard drive. I’ve done it once before and am pretty sure I can manage it again.

Anyway, that was more explanation than was probably necessary to tell you why my husband had become close personal friends with Target electronics employee, John. And the fringe benefits of being friends with John (and spending as much money on jump drives as it would have cost to just buy a portable hard drive) is that John was willing to quietly divulge that a Wii Fit might be had if someone were to arrive at Target at 8:00 am when they opened on Sunday morning. I guess this was my reward for spending the better part of the first beautiful winter day in Minnesota in weeks inside the house. (Thirty some degrees and I spent my day indoors except for an early morning run.)

I was not even out of my pajamas (technically, a pair of yoga pants and a sweatshirt) when I opened up the box and surveyed the contents. I momentarily wondered if the morning after a late night of karaoke and a few beers was the best time to be assessing my fitness goals, but I couldn’t stop myself. I chose my trainer – the female one – thinking she might be easier on me than the male trainer, but she was kind of a slave-driver!

One of my first tests was to balance on one foot and do a few stretches. Trust me when I say this is harder than it looks. I might have benefited from a bit of caffeine first. I was all over the place and it didn’t escape my trainer’s attention that I put my foot down a time or two. Nothing gets past this chick. She’s a tough one, I tell ya! I think she was punishing me for last night’s indulgence with her scoldings. Either that or she didn’t like the looks of my stylish sunglasses and pouty full lips. (So I took some liberties when creating my Mii. Sue me.)

My husband and daughter were lounging in the chair and on the love seat watching my progress. I know full well that Mark has no intentions of creating a fitness profile on this thing, but he was barking out directions and criticizing my efforts.

“You’re lifting the wrong knee. Move the other direction.”

“You shut up and just concentrate on lounging in that chair,” I barked back at him. I was getting testy and breaking a sweat. I took a quick break to find some shorts, a sports bra and a t-shirt.

Next I tried some strength exercises since this is what I really need to work on. My arms have the strength of wet noodles, yet somehow I managed to complete an exercise pretty successfully and earned the ranking of …. body builder? Heh…No. That can’t be right. And my stomach muscles are aching now. Maybe there’s a six pack hiding in there somewhere. I mean, besides the liquid kind I drank last night. (No, I didn’t really drink that much. Six would put me under the table.)

I completed thirty minutes worth of exercises including ski jumping, the slalom and getting corked in the head with soccer cleats due to my complete and total lack of balance. I think the game asked me if I spend a lot of time tripping while walking. Nobody warned me that the game came pre-programmed with a smart-alec attitude! I forgave it though, since my weight measured about six pounds under what I normally see on the bathroom scale.

I’m going to give it another try tomorrow and see if I can’t make friends with my trainer. I’ll keep you posted.

42 thoughts on “I look good for my age, don't I?

  1. I am such an unbalanced oaf! The yoga part where I have to put my foot on the inside of my opposite thigh is impossible for my level of limberness. But, at age 38, my WiiFit Age is still 37.

    Maybe you were still a little tipsy. It would be fun to see what you WiiFit Age is after some alcohol. It reminds me of the WKRP episode where Venus Flytrap and Dr. Johnny Fever tested their reaction time after drinking and Fever actual improved as he drank more…

    Maybe you are a balanced drunk, but not so good sober!!!!!!

    Like

  2. the ski jump is my favorite thing on there, I got 176 feet!!! :)

    Keep doing it regularly, you’ll find a difference, I promise. My Mii is really fat, it’s super depressing.

    Like

  3. am lost absolutely no idea what you are talking about! would you explain what thing this WiiFitis please or I a miss out on the fun I guess…
    The post abt ur daughter was hilarious and I took liberty to post the material to my Friend – they dont read blogs, or at least am not sure they check if I send them links so I posted the whole darned thing complete with the title, hope u dont mind Terri, and u do look great esply in this new photo/gravatar :)

    Like

  4. Ba ha ha ha!

    I only catch about the first sentence or two on my feedreader and I thought, “DANG! Terri’s 58???? Good golly, I would have never pegged her to be that old!”

    Glad you are lovin’ the Wii…we’ve almost talk ourselves into one. Maybe by Christmas 2009…

    Like

  5. Ok you are speaking gibberish to me. I still don’t get the whole Wii thing. I get up every morning and stumble around like an 80 year old man. Then I shuffle out to the living room pull out my yoga mat and start my routine. After I have fallen, twisted and pulled my spleen I determine enough exercise for the day. My Wii age would probably be 97.

    Like

  6. You can’t be 58. Impossible. That wasn’t any 58 year old woman wearing those boots!

    If you are,really, 58 then your husband must have done something incredibly good in a previous life to merit having a wife that looks like that.

    Like

  7. 6 lbs. lower than the bathroom scale, huh? Where do I find one of these heavenly devices? lol

    I think it criticizes everyone who gets on it – I haven’t heard one person not want to throw that thing out the window after trying the balancing act.

    Have fun!

    Like

  8. I think I was in my 70’s when I first attempted it. I’m almost in my 30’s now…but my darn Wii arm is acting up. I may have to take an ibuprofen and lay off the Wii! :) LOL.

    Like

  9. I have a wii fit and I love it. I have logged on over 10 hours. It told me that on Sunday. I am really 59 years old and my first wii fit age was 70! As of Sunday it said my age was 28!!! I have improved and have stuck with it. I love the yoga. I am getting better at the one legged stuff but it is still quite a challenge. Yes, I could do with out the comments about do I trip a lot. And it knows when you put your foot down. I love the tight rope and the dancing and the hoola hoop. I only do all that after my strength training and yoga.

    Like

  10. Lol.
    Your hubby should have video taped your first session with your wii fit. I bet it would have been one funny video from reading your post.
    Good luck with it tomorrow!
    Bryan

    Like

  11. We had been thinking about getting the Wii Fit – now I’m convinced that we must. Thanks for the great recommendation. Hopefully in the next few weeks we can find one around here and get fit.

    Like

  12. Damn woman, after all this running and now the Wii you’ll be ready for the Olympics. You just have to figure out if its either the Summer or Winter games…

    Like

  13. I got the Wii and Wii Fit for Christmas and haven’t set them up yet….I’ve got to after reading this, especially since it told you you weigh less than you thought…is that too much to hope for for me???

    The mental picture I got from your wirting had me smiling so much that Ken asked me what I was reading….so glad you had fun in the midst of winter!!!

    Like

  14. Wii Fit is great, we have had one for around a year now. I don’t use it as much as I would like to – it is quite a remarkable piece of kit,not just the toy I thought it would be.

    And yes, you do!

    Like

  15. Haven’t gotten the WiiFit yet, and your post makes me even more excited!

    I think the WiiFit will offset the weight I gained since I started forgoing the gym to play Catan Settlers. :)

    Like

  16. From reading all my blog friends posts about their experience with the Wii Fit, I am thinking I need to get one. Do you need a lot of room to use it? I mean, could you do the exercises with it in a RV? And are you really seeing results in terms of feeling better by using it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

