Preacher Dave and the Nice Tries

In weekly bowling news…

It turn out that P.U. Dave is a bit of a comedian! (That’s Poor Unsuspecting Dave for those not already in the know.) Dave had us believing he makes his living as a preacher for quite a while there before he finally cracked a smile. (This gag was prefaced by Gina’s announcement that Amazing Grace was the only church song she knew by heart. What prompted this announcement, I’ll never know, but Dave took it and ran with it.) Gina and I looked at each other with raised eyebrows at Dave’s revelation, each internally worrying about anything we might have ever said that may have offended Preacher Dave. She looked at him and asked, “You’re a preacher? Really?”

“Hell, no!” 

Heh. Good one, Dave.

 The actual bowling last night was nothing to write home about, but there’s never a shortage of antics to provide entertainment. Gina keeps things lively. She knows everyone and everyone knows her. And the woman can belch like a three-hundred pound trucker, which is apparently quite amusing to her friends at the bowling alley.

The team we bowled against last night consisted of Thai, Sammy and Sonny. Let me tell you, the Asian community is a force in the bowling league! These guys were good! There was no hope for us, but Thai and Sammy encouraged us none the less. (Sonny was apparently the shy member of the team and didn’t say much.) In the women’s league, I’ve come to expect high-fives after a strike or spare. Things are different in the men’s (I mean co-ed) league. Last night, Thai high-fived me for everything!

“Nice try! Nice Try,” he’d say. “Next time you get strike!”

When I got a spare, he’d say, “Good job! Good job! No ‘nice try’ when you get spare! Good job!”

I bowled a couple of strikes and Thai’s resounding “WOO-HOO” could be heard throughout the place. What a nice guy. Maybe he needs a nick name too. Nice Thai.

I asked P.U. Dave why some of the teams had cool team names when we were known as “Team 4.” He said he didn’t know and asked if I thought “The Nice Tries” was a good name. I countered with “Preacher Dave and the Nice Tries.” We decided that sounded more like a band name than a bowling team, and since none of us can really sing, we remain the bowling team known as “Team 4.”

We finished respectably, and once again, my inexperienced straight throw put my score above Pro-Gina’s score in at least one game. She and P.U. Dave contemplated the oil on the lanes, the curve in their throws and complained more about missing the “pocket.” I think I prefer to remain oblivious to technique. It only causes frustration.

17 thoughts on “Preacher Dave and the Nice Tries

  1. I must remember that one – I have to tell people that I am a preacher!

    Thai sounds great! Let us know how his team gets on.

    Team 4? You must get something better than that.

    Preaching, Belching and Therapy!

  2. I’m jealous…I want to be on a bowling team!! I think you should have a contest on your blog to see who can come up with the best team name. :)

  3. You sound like you are having so much fun I want to join Team 4! Of course I couldn’t add much to the overall team score, I don’t bowl very well. I have more enthusiasm than talent. P.U. Dave and Gina sound like twin riots!

  4. I used to live in Utah. I imagine that you, Gina, and Preacher Dave would look like just another polygamous “couple” were you to join the co-ed leagues there.

    I love Thai people – always so happy!

  5. I think their “pockets” are bringing them down. I’m half tempted to Google that to find out what that means, but I’m afraid it would mess up my future bowling endeavors if I was in the know.

    The trucker comment made me laugh hysterically. That’s awesome. Gotta love a gal who can hold her own with the guys.

  6. I like “The Nice Tries” as a name. It’s funny and creative at the same time.

    I don’t know what these ‘pockets’ are either…

  7. I think everybody will enjoy this.

    “Inclusion or Exclusion”

    Some people have an Idea that God is inclusive for mans eternal destiny, that all religions and all people will be saved. That God will allow all of mankind to enter into heaven because everybody is good so God must be fair and include everyone! It is true God does love the whole world but God is exclusive about mans eternal destiny without the Savior. To keep this simple man has a problem called sin in which man refuses to believe that there are eternal consequences for having sin, which is a one way ticket to hell. God is holy and he will not allow anyone with sin to enter into heaven. God is hurt and angry about our sin, we have broken his laws. But God is just and good and he knows our need so he provided a solution to our problem. His solution to our problem is to have our sins removed by having our sins placed on someone else, a sacrifice for us; paying for the penalty of the sin we have in our lives. So that someone else would get the penalty of Gods wrath and separation on him that was meant for us. So God sent his son Jesus on a mission from heaven to earth as our sacrifice to die on the cross on our behalf after this happened three days later Jesus came back from the dead, alive. But that’s not all remember I wrote that God is exclusive about mans eternal destiny without the Savior? The only way that Gods promise can be applied to your life is for you to turn from your way of thinking and know that your sin offends and hurts God and call on the Lord Jesus who’s alive to save you. Your sins are then transferred to Jesus for what he did at the cross, dying and being abandon by God because of your sins, for you and because Jesus arose from the dead he is alive you can now enter into a relationship with God. Will you call out to Jesus to save you? It’s your choice to enter in exclusively with God’s grace for you. Where will you want to spend eternity after hearing Gods promise for you?
    If the answer was yes that you do want Jesus as your sin bearer, Savior, and you do believe God raised Jesus from the dead you can pray with your voice.

    “Dear Lord Jesus save me.”

    Acts 20:21 Testifying both to the Jews, and also to the Greeks, repentance towards God, and faith toward our Lord Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

