Life is Good – November 20, 2009

I started my post yesterday with the words, “Happiness is…” It reminded me of a book I had as a kid. Anyone remember Happiness is a Warm Puppy by Charles M. Schultz?

The book was all about simple pleasures. It serves as a reminder that it’s often the little things in life that make us smile. Even in the midst of all the chaos, bad news, the kids bickering, the demands of work and home, there are little things that see us through each day. So I got to thinking about all the simple things that made me happy or brought a smile this week…

  • A phone call from a friend and a long, easy conversation
  • Reading and getting lost in a good story
  • Hugs from my kids
  • The prospect of a short work-week ahead
  • Knowing Brad will be home for the holidays
  • Sleeping in
  • Being asked by Jake, “What can I help with?” Then he dusted the living room!
  • Coffee with hazelnut creamer
  • Bowling with the girls
  • Getting a chiropractic adjustment just when I needed it most
  • Having my hubby leave with my car and bringing it back washed and detailed
  • a down comforter on a cold ┬ámorning
  • a snuggly cat
  • laughing with my sister
  • Singing along with the radio in the car

Life is good!

What were your simple pleasures this week?

29 thoughts on “Life is Good – November 20, 2009

  1. snuggling with my 3-year-old, coffee and chocolate during naptime, kind gift from friends, reassuring words, coloring, freshly mopped floors before kids mess it up, and fires in the fireplace on a cool damp day

    Like

  2. Making dinner for the girlfriend and then snuggling with said girlfriend by a nice fire.

    On the other end of the scale, working with the guys to cut and split two cords of wood. Turning back the clock to the 1800’s.

    Like

  3. I remember singing that song in elementary school. Happiness is two scoops of ice cream. I miss the world of Charles Schultz. I was happy to get an esgrow check back from the old mortgage companay and I don’t have to appy it to the new mortgage to pay for taxes! Free money.

    Like

  4. Reading good school reports.

    Finishing my last assignment for the term!

    Hearing students saw “Aww” when the photo of Custard, my dog (that is on my desktop) showed on the projector screen during a lecture. “Yeah, that’s my puppy!!

    Like

  5. A lot of nice things! I’d add:

    Being in love.
    Getting a smile from someone far away.
    Little jokes
    a cold beer and a warm friend.

    Nice.

    oh, and reading your posts!

    Like

  6. I would have to say……

    Having a Thanksgiving lunch with my son at his school and watching him sing in his program.

    My dogs making me smile.

    Chatting with my family members.

    Like

  7. reading the cool comments people leave on my poetry posts

    petting cats and kittens

    Warm apple cider with a shot of brandy

    Snuggling up with my girl…

    Like

  8. Very simple pleasures this week – just being here, able to watch a few more antics that Maya and Kurtis provide, knowing we have more than adequate food stocked in, making progress with the tablecloth I’m engrossed in and that Mandy finally got a car (again) all to herself which will save me from having to put gas in the tank of my jeep every darned time I need to use it!
    Loved your list of Happiness Is things!

    Like

  9. Ooooh those sound good! I love down comforters :) We have a down alternative, but it is still very very comfy.

    I need to go to the chiropractor too…my upper back is messed up :(

    Like

  10. Life is Good! This is our favorite time of year for Peanuts with all the holiday specials that start at Halloween.

    This week…
    -Getting our 1st Holiday project out the door at work.
    -Making good progress on the next order.
    -Decided to have Thanksgiving at our house with my sister & her family.
    -Middle son completed a 1 day Babysitting course
    -Another Spring-like day in the 60’s and I still have some flowers blooming!

    Like

  11. Seeing my daughter in Annie this weekend; going up to Michigan for a sisters’ weekend, having one sister color and style my hair and another putting makeup on my usually naked face, texting and laughing with the oldest; being hugged and kissed by The Mister after being away for the weekend; feeling renewed and ready to face another day.

    Like

  12. - My fiancee’s delicious cooking.
    – Green lights all the way to work.
    – Sleeping in on Sunday morning.
    – Playing Seinfeld Scene-It with Julia and beating her for the first time ever. :)
    – Getting to read your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

