What a Headache

My Sunday was a total loss. I woke up at 3:00 a.m. in a cold sweat and my head feeling as if it were on the verge of exploding. I’ve never had a migraine before, and if this wasn’t one, it had to have come close. The pain was so severe I grew short of breath. It hurt to lie down. It hurt to sit up. I went in search of a cold pack, thinking it might help. Before I could find one, I took some Tylenol, then ended up in the bathroom where the Tylenol promptly came back up.

It took a while for me to finally get back to sleep, and I only woke up later when Mark came to check on me at 11:30. I thought I should get out of bed and do something with what was left of the day. But after sitting and talking with Mark and the kids a bit, I still felt a dull pain and ended up sneaking back to bed for another couple of hours. I finally felt human again around 2:00. I showered and dressed, did a couple loads of laundry, and then…parked myself in the recliner with a blanket and pillow…and slept some more. I never left the house at all yesterday. I just felt as if I’d been put through a wringer. I have a new appreciation for people who suffer migraines on a regular basis. I don’t know how you do it!

Since I wasn’t my usual entertaining self, Mark and Jake spent the afternoon stringing Christmas lights on all the pine trees behind our house. The trees are behind the privacy fence, so we won’t even be able to see them, but they’ll be very visible to all the traffic on our road, which is a lot. Late in the day, Mark turned the lights on and reported that they looked great. Kacey has strong opinions about the appropriateness of Christmas decorations too early in the season. Her response was a disgusted, “I can’t believe we’re one of those houses with Christmas lights lit before Thanksgiving!”

I’d have been inclined to agree with her, but I was too wiped out to care. Thankfully, I feel much better today.

27 thoughts on “What a Headache

  1. Good to hear that you are feeling better now – that sounds horrible!

    We will be getting our decorations up in a week or 2 – my wife normally resists as long as she can has actually started doing stuff already, making some gift bags and stockings to hang by the fake fireplace that she is currently building… I am sure that this will get a post soon.

    Like

  2. Glad to hear you got over that hump. I too had the same thing yesterday. I NEVER take naps and actually took one yesterday. Woke up at 4 a.m. this morning with the same dull ache. I’m nursing it with some ibprofen and coffee.

    Like

  3. Glad to hear you are feeling better Terry. I have never had a migrane but my wife suffers from them pretty badly. A few times a year they get so bad I have to take her to the hospital to get a shot to make it go away. She get’s them for days upon days sometimes and makes life very difficult. I wish there was something I could do to make them go away for her.

    I put up a lot of Christmas lights last weekend and this weekend. I just don’t turn them on until Black Friday. :-D

    Like

  4. Sounds like it is probably a migraine. I used to get those years ago when I had high blood pressure. They can be extremely debilitating; I remember going almost blind and deaf from pain when a bad one would hit. Hopefully you won’t get them too often.

    Like

  5. come on T, admit it, you were faking to get the lights up early!! ;) Personally, I agree with K. Don’t hang em before Dec 1.

    I feel for you, those things stinkeroo. Glad you’re feeling better.

    Like

  6. Oh my poor Terri, I do sympathise. I’ve only had a relatively small session once in my life and I kid you not, if I’d have been given a gun I may well have used it on myself, the pain was *that* unbearable. For days I didn’t know where to put myself and what to do to relieve the excruciating pain. To this day I have no idea what caused it but it occurred after an American holiday and I can only think that there may have been MSG in some of the food we ate (because MSG *can* be a trigger).

    I’m so pleased you’re feeling better now (as, no doubt, are you).

    I love, love, love Christmas lights – the randomly placed little white lights that twinkle in trees. Coloured lights are good but white is my favourite. I dread Christmas and dislike it intensely but these little white lights always put a smile in my heart. I think it’s an altruistic and lovely gesture that you do this for people passing in the road when you yourselves barely see them. Good for you. :)

    Confession: we have little white lights pinned to some outside curved trellis and leave it up all year as part of our outside lighting. They can be seen from the main road to the north of us and we tend to put them on to welcome visitors. To me dates don’t matter for this kind of simple white lighting but, seriously, I fear it’s only a matter of time before the eco nazis tell us all to pack it in.

    Like

  7. I really think that the smart people are the one’s that get the Christmas lights up when the weather is cooperative.

    The brilliant people, don’t ever put them up in the first place.

    Headaches aren’t allowed in our house…maybe in a few years.

    Like

  8. Happy to hear you seem to have recovered. That sounds awful. I haven’t had a migraine like that, which wasn’t alcohol induced at least, but it sounds pretty nasty. Ugh.

    Like

  9. gurl, glad it wasn’t the flu! and glad that you feel better. Putting up the lights for others to appreciate and enjoy, even tho your family won’t be able to see them through your fence…..is so awesome! That tells a lot about your family. You guys are great!

    Like

  10. When do you do your Christmas shopping? The Labor Day Sale?

    I have always considered it shopping early to go BEFORE lunch on Chistmas Eve.

    Like

    • Oh, no. I’m so not an early Christmas shopper. I never start until after Thanksgiving and rarely finish until just before Christmas.

      The lights needed to be put up while the weather is still cooperative. It’s no fun stringing lights in 20 degree temps and snow. I still maintain they shouldn’t be turned on until after Thanksgiving.

      Like

  11. My son used to have migraines a lot and I get them sometimes. The best med I’ve found has been Excedrine Migraine. These are horrible headaches and I hope that was your one and only.

    I’m thinking we should put up our decorations while both kids are home for the holiday. In fact, they should do it all themselves.

    Like

  12. How awful!

    I’ve never had a migraine. In fact, I hardly ever get headaches (there, now I’ve probably totally jinxed myself), and I don’t know how migraine sufferers do it either.

    Glad you’re feeling better. Let the ragging about the decorations commence!

    Like

  13. First, I LOVE your new blog header. Bright and cheerful.

    Secondly, so sorry to hear that you were incredibly ill. Migraines are not fun. Sometimes, it takes those unfortuanate things to slow one down and rest.

    Hugs!!

    Like

  14. I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better. I get headaches like you mentioned periodically. I dint think they’re migranes because I don’t think they last long enough to qualify. They suck royally nonetheless! Only thing that helps is rest and advil. I have a lavender eye mask that lives in the freezer waiting for just such an event, which helps emencely as well!

    I’m inclined to agree with Kacey about nit putting lights up too early, thiugh I read you’re reply above and can understand doing the lights before it freezes, and agree with you: put ‘em up, but leave ‘em off until it gets a little closer!

    Like

  15. Headaches like that can take stop an elephant in its tracks. People don’t really understand or empathize with you until you’ve had one or someone you love has one. Glad to hear it did not last long. Take it easy this week (or pretend to).

    I tend to put up lights around Thanksgiving and leave them up until mid January. Some years it has been earlier, some years later. After losing the dog last year, I just wasn’t in the spirit and did not put up lights until the weekend before Xmas.

    Like

  16. Aw. Poor girl. I HAVE had migranes…you want to smash your head against a pillow and not move….. sorry you felt that way.

    It IS too early to light them. Not install them. I turn mine on Thanksgiving evening.

    Like

  17. Ugh. My mom used to get those headaches all the time. She ended up having to go to the chiropractor and getting something done. Glad you’re feeling better; headaches blow.

    Like

  18. Yuck. I agree, headaches blow.

    I woke up about 3 a.m. last night feeling like I was going to get sick. I couldn’t go back to sleep and was getting hot, the cold, then a half hour later I did get sick…except I had nothing in my stomach to get sick with. I hate that, but I’m glad I didn’t have a migraine…I’ve never experienced one and I never want to. Glad you feel better now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

