Life is Good – March 26, 2010

Yay! It’s Friday!

It’s been a good week. I’ve been very busy at work and that’s a good thing. Busy is good, right?

The weather has been beautiful with lots of sunshine and signs of life. Now, I don’t want to jinx anything, but I’m going to venture to say that we’ve seen the last of the snow for this year! YAY!

The kitchen remodel has been at a standstill most of this week. It’s functioning enough that we can live with it for now. The new counter tops and appliances will be in next Tuesday, and the sink and faucet sometime between Tuesday and Friday. Right now, it looks pretty much like this:

Yesterday, I spent part of the day checking out lots of hard wood. That is…hardwood. Flooring. For the floor. In the kitchen. I think I like the hickory.

Kacey has gotten over her frustration with being placed on the high school “B” softball team instead of varsity. As I knew she would, she sucked it up and is having fun. The varsity coach has pulled her up for a couple varsity practices and has invited her to play in the varsity scrimmage this weekend. She’s come home every night, excitedly chattering about softball, the coach, the new things she’s learned and the good plays she’s made.

Good. I’m glad she’s happy. Because the scrimmage on Saturday? Requires her to be at school to catch the bus at 6:30 a.m. And since she has yet to take her driver’s test, her parents will get to rise and shine and go drop her off. ¬†What the heck. We’ll probably go watch the scrimmage because as soon as it’s over, we get to high-tail it about an hour or so in the other direction to get her to her volleyball tournament. Someone please remind me that I’ll look back on all these sports with fond memories some day.

And remember… Life is Good! Have a great weekend!

16 thoughts on “Life is Good – March 26, 2010

  1. Great progress on the kitchen re-do. I was wondering what you were going to do with the floor. Which brand/type of wood flooring are you going with? We are looking to install it in our dining and living rooms.

    I always felt that Kacey would handle her team placement would not let it bring her down. I think this type of challenge helps build character in people in how they deal with the cards they are dealt. And good luck with the weekend games. Comes with the territory (kids & sports). Remember, you asked for this…

    Like

  2. I may get my kitchen redo sooner than I thought too. My oven element literally flamed out this week. If I have to replace the oven… well, you know how that goes.

    Good luck to Kacey in the scrimmage and V-ball tournament, I hope she gets a lot of play time.

    Like

  3. Your kitchen is coming along nicely! Since mine is in major need of a makeover, I’ll just live vicariously through you for now.

    Be careful… Remember when I declared the end of treadmill season a few weeks ago? Blizzard!

    Sounds like Kacey isn’t a true B-teamer. Sounds more like a Varsity-minus. Glad she’s having fun!

    Beautiful photo of the green thing!

    Like

  4. Life is AWESOME, Terri. Totally.

    Have a great weekend – embrace the early morning tomorrow and look at it as a way to greet the day with enthusiasm and joyfulness (or at least a cup of coffee).

    Like

  5. Sounds like life is good! Bet you can’t wait for your beautiful new kitchen to be done.

    Careful about tempting Mother nature with your snow comment. We just had a 1″ blast after a week of lovely Spring weather.

    Just a few more weeks for the gardening season to begin. Happy Spring!

    Like

  6. The kitchen is coming along and looks great so far!

    You will miss these sports weekends, really you will! (Did I convince you? :)

    Right now I spend some weekends and week nights toting The Youngest to and from high school for drama events and choir. I know I will miss this when she graduates.

    Like

  7. Wow, that’s a tough time for a scrimmage. YOU may or may not look back and think it was worthwhile, but Kacey absolutely will…..and she’s going to decide your nursing home. :-)

    Like

  8. Being Busy IS a good thing!

    I am ever so jealous of your kick ass weather conditions! Its been MISERABLE and rainy over here for far too long!

    Kitchen’s looking good!

    And, Im glad Kacey is over her JUSTIFIABLE frustrations!

    xoxo

    Like

  9. You’ll good memories of it!! In a way, I miss high school sports. It’s a chance to blow off steam, stay fit, and hit people without getting in trouble :) I can’t do that so much anymore…

    Like

Leave a Reply

