These Days

So much going on these days, as always.

Brad has been pushing for a family weekend up north at the lake. Now that Kacey is done playing softball for a while, it seems like the perfect time. Our family is rarely all together. With Mark’s crazy work schedule, that’s a problem we’ve battled all our lives. And now that the kids are young adults, it’s even worse. It used to be that their dad was missing from half of the family activities. Now it’s more often one or more of the kids who are missing. It’s normal, I know. But I still don’t like it.

Brad looked at the calendar, checked Mark’s work schedule and proposed we go to the cabin next weekend. It seemed like the perfect opportunity. And then Kacey remembered she has a volleyball camp that weekend; something to help the school team get prepared for their season. What? Mark confirmed it was true. Said he had written a check to pay for this camp a few months ago. It didn’t get put on the calendar so no one remembered. I guess now we try to figure out a way to let Kacey stay home so at least some of us can visit the lake at least once this summer. But it’s not quite what I had in mind. Sigh.

Work continues to be crazy. I feel like I’m in over my head some days. But every time I start to get frustrated, I remember the two years of sheer boredom and I am happy again to have more than enough to do. There is one big project I’ve been working on which just multiplies by the day and I have to try to figure out how to squeeze in all the other everyday things that need doing as well.

And to top it off, there is another project that I have to figure out how to accomplish. This one has me really excited. Remember the seminar I attended a few weeks ago that had me wildly outside of my comfort zone because it required speaking in front of a group? Well, I was there because the CEO wanted someone with writing skills to learn what was being taught. My boss designated me as the “writing skilled” person and now the CEO has asked me to do some writing for a very big project! I’ve begun to write some of the pieces he’s looking for and it feels very right. I can’t remember ever being this excited about work, but I think I’m going to have to bring this one home at times because I just don’t see how I can squeeze it all in during the work day.

Thankfully, bowling continues to provide the perfect stress relief just when I need it most. When I showed up last night, I sat down to have a beer with Preacher Dave before practice began. He said something about me achieving my highest series yet last week. I said, “What?” He said, “Yeah. You carried the team last week and earned us 17 points! You didn’t know that?”

Honestly, I didn’t. I remember telling everyone that I bowled like a rock star, but that was only because I felt like I had finally dragged myself out of the gutter and figured out how to conquer the oil pattern. I really don’t get that serious about my bowling. I’m just there to have fun and am happy when I see myself improve. I had no idea that I had scored as well as I did. I guess that’s a good sign. It’s just fun for me.

Today is one of those rare no-plans kind of days. It’s rainy outside and I’m still in my pajamas. I might just try to enjoy a bit of laziness for a change. Not too much. Just a little. After all, tomorrow will bring back plenty of chaos.

12 thoughts on “These Days

  1. You really are in the zone kiddo with work and bowling. There’s not much that can be done about the family starting to go centrifugal. If you have family members that have it together, they just start moving off into their own lives. It’s a blessing really even if it means not being able to see them the way we’d like.

  2. Wait till one moves out of town…. it gets worse. Good work is good. Its a big part of your day
    . Gives you good balance. YOU ARE THE B-ROCK STAR!!! Enjoy the easy day!

  3. We are finding it harder and harder to find weekends where there isn’t SOMETHING that takes one of us somewhere else – hope you manage to get some good family time in this summer, somewhere!

    So you really DID bowl like a Rock Star! I guess this is your version of playing the guitar! I think you should record a vblog at the bowling alley…

  4. I think that is one of the sad parts of our kids growing up… not being able to coordinate schedules to spend family time together. There always seems to be a conflict with someone. I hope you all can still get to the lake, if even for a couple days together.

  5. I’m usually the one who’s missing from the family activities these days, since the family lives like an hour and a half away, and weekends are usually jam packed. I’m trying to do better, though.

    Congrats on the recognition from your CEO! That’s a pretty big deal! I’m sure they’ll be impressed with your writing skills. You are an awesome writer.

    You’re an awesome bowler as well… but you already knew that. :)

  6. Looks like you had a banner week. You’re busier than a one-armed paper hanger with an itch. Enjoying work. Bowling like a pro. Kids are busy. Life’s going non-stop. I’ve always said: Be careful what you wish for. Still, I’d rather be griping about being busy than being bored.

  7. It sounds like you are not only busy, but accomplishing much. That’s got to be a good feeling. I do hope you get your weekend with the whole family. I know how rare that can be. I knew that life would get more complicated when my girls got older,but didn’t realize how complicated. My mom had six of us. I wonder if she saw herself coming and going when we got to be in our teens and 20s?

  8. You and Mike have that in common- your bosses asking/designating you for special assignments. That’s good though. I told Mike he’s going to end up being VP of the whole company in about 15 years. I can also relate with having all these extra projects to do in addition to the daily work that needs to be done. You should definitely enjoy a weekend away!

  9. What??? A “project” that grows by the day??? That’s unheard of!! ;-)

    Sounds like you’re pretty busy! These days I can relate, and when my class starts, I only see things getting busier.

  10. “and now the CEO has asked me to do some writing for a very big project! ”

    OMGOSH! That’s sooo exciting!

    I am always happy to hear whenever you get the chance to have a nice relaxing day in your pajamas! Your life is always so hectic!

Leave a Reply

