Christmastime is Here

I’m ready, for the most part. It’s been a very busy week and the days have flown by. The cookies have all been made and the presents wrapped.  The celebrating begins tonight and ends tomorrow night. It will be a whirlwind of parties and activity. Tonight we’ll be at my sister’s house with my extended family. Tomorrow, during the day, we’ll be with Mark’s extended family. And tomorrow night, we’ll be with my best friend, Gina and her family. Brad comes home on Sunday and things will be on the quiet side for a few days until his girlfriend, Heather arrives for New Year’s weekend.

Is it just me, or does anyone else find themselves on Christmas, quietly thinking, “Not yet…” ?

The older I get, the more I’ve come to appreciate the generosity and charm of the days leading up to Christmas more than the day itself. I love the atmosphere of hope and joy, selflessness and kindness.  It’s as if everyone shares this wonderful secret and we can see it in each other’s eyes when we look at one another. Smiles are more abundant, strangers seem friendlier. Even those with hardened hearts seem to have softened a bit. THAT is what I love about Christmas. When I woke up this morning, I felt myself thinking, “Not yet.” I don’t want it to end. I don’t want to go back to normal the day after tomorrow, when we all climb back inside the shells of our own worlds.

I can do without the frantic daily need to shop, bake and make everything perfect. But I would love to have that Christmas feeling every day of the year. And maybe that’s possible, and maybe it has to start with me. Maybe the day after Christmas doesn’t have to be a huge letdown, but a new beginning. Hmmm…. :-)

Christmas time is here! Merry Christmas, everyone!

19 thoughts on “Christmastime is Here

  1. I have MA theology and complement your ability to express aspects of Christian faith. “…shares this wonderful secret…” The secret is available to all, but one must accept the secret, the invitation, to possess the answers to the secret. Christmas “…as a new beginning.” Yes, most certainly as is Easter. I believe the Resurrection may not be a mere particular event, but that the resurrection is available to each of us by accepting the invitation and there is no need for Second Coming as Christ is in our midst all the time if we a receptive. Regards.

    Like

  2. Reminds me of something that was tweeted to me today:

    “I will honor Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year.” — Charles Dickens

    Merry Christmas (and beyond!)

    Like

  3. Merry Christmas Terri. We have a good chance for a White Christmas in NC for the first time in my lifetime and only the second time ever. We’ll see what happens.

    — Judson

    Like

  4. You are absolutely right. Why is it that many folks set aside only certain times to act one way and then revert after that time? That is what individualism (which is supposed to be the hallmark of this country) is about: forget what “society” expects and do your own thing.

    Like

  5. Although I do enjoy the thrill of watching family share gifts at Christmas -especially the two youngest of my grandchildren -and I do sort of enjoy the frenzy of finding gifts for the family too (mainly the younger ones as the older they get, the more persnickity they tend to be about this stuff then too and that tends to irritate me -a lot) -but the thing I do enjoy the most is the service at our church on Christmas Eve which generally is a whole lot of music -congregational singing of traditional carols and special music by our choir too. The aura that -to me surrounds the church, the parishioners too -is something that when the service ends, there is for me a brief let-down as I realize this is over for another year but then, the feeling of anticipation kicks in then too and I begin to look forward to the next year’s service then.
    On Christmas Eve, we had our Christmas meal -ham, scalloped potatoes, veggies and loads of cookies and some cake too. Today, I did NO cooking! None whatsoever! Actually, it took me the entire day (well, almost anyway) just to get the dishes from last night washed and put away! I slept and slept and slept some more! The house was quiet as the two little ones were with their Dad. Mandy and her friend (Ken) were gone from about 3 pm until a little past 8 and my son disappeared around 6 p.m. so I had the house to myself! (Older daughter and older grandson left around 10:30 am.) With no one to talk to, I found myself napping yet again and now, it’s 1 a.m. and sheesh, small wonder, I’m now wide awake! Looks like Sunday is going to be another day filled with sleep and more sleep, I guess! Well, that way I can dream about keeping the Christmas spirit alive and well, can’t I?

    Like

  6. Merry Christmas to you and your family.
    Hope you are having a great holiday and Santa gave you everything you wanted (or deserved). Enjoy the time with friends & family

    Like

  7. I think in trying to create a “perfect” Christmas, we also create that “not yet” feeling within ourselves. The Mister always tells me, “Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good.”

    I hope your Christmas was a happy one in spite of the stress it took to get to the day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

