OH.MY.GOD.

I was just on the verge of writing about the breakfast I cooked today – a recipe from my new cookbook called egg-in-a-hole, to which Kacey’s response was, “Holy butter!” …

And then something so unbelievable happened that I’m still trying to grasp the fact that it really did happen!

As we were eating (guiltily) Kacey was filling me in on her plans for the day. “… Can I go to the hockey game at 3:00?… and is it okay if I pick up Hail?… might go tubing at Green Acres after the game…”

I was listening, processing what she was saying, figuring out whether I needed my car today and was on the verge of giving the okay to Kacey, when Jake spoke up from under a pile of blankets in the living room. (He’s been sick and over the past few days, he just wanders from bed to love seat to recliner with his blankets, pillow and water bottle.)

“Kacey,” he said. “Why don’t you just take my car, and that way if Mom has to go somewhere, she can just take her own car.”

I stopped chewing my breakfast and looked over at the top of my son’s head where he lay in the living room. He was obviously completely unaware of the level of shock he had just instilled.

I looked over at Kacey and her eyes were wide with disbelief and a smile began to creep over her face. My youngest son, her brother had just offered her the use of his new (used) car, the one for which he saved his money so diligently and the one about which he made it clear belongs to him, and him alone, not to be touched by anyone else. Ever. End of story. Don’t even ask.

Jake had just casually offered his sister the use of his car without so much as blinking an eye and without want for anything in return. Such a gesture of generosity has NEVER before been offered from one of my children to another. Generally speaking, to put it mildly, my children are less than fond of their siblings and they spend their days trying to out-do one another in the getting-under-the-skin department.

I waited and watched for any sign that Jake’s offer was really just a cruel joke, but he gave no inclination that the offer would be rescinded.

What is happening here? Who is this young man in my living room and what has he done with my son? Maybe it was the breakfast I made him. Maybe sinful amounts of butter consumption cause feelings of great generosity! Maybe he’s much sicker than I thought!

I don’t usually believe in miracles, but this could quite possibly change my mind. Whatever it is, I like it. I will be cautiously watching for more signs that the hateful years are on their way out the door. I’ll keep you posted.

 

19 thoughts on “OH.MY.GOD.

  1. It’s moments like this that become frozen in our consciousness … life changes in an instant and we are rewarded with a glimpse of who they are becoming … ooh chills! Great job, Mom. :)

  2. Yeah, as I was reading this, I thought. OMG, that boy is REALLY sick!

    I’m still thinking that there must be some sort of boobie trap in the car…

  3. Clearly a fever induced remark. Heck, he might have been asleep actually!! Did you check to see? Definitely sleep talking.

  4. I would remind you that he was not just being considerate of his sister, but his mom because of his comment that he did not want you to be inconvenienced. You got a twofer there for sis and mom. There is hope for this young man and blessings to you and yours
    John Wilder

  5. Wait and see if Kacey brings it home with dents and the fender hanging off…maybe he won’t do it again. Seriously though that is a fine unselfish young man you are raising. He did it because it was his to give and he knew it would make you both happy.

  6. Really nice. I don’t let anybody drive my car … except for my wife (that’s probably because she doesn’t like to drive it. She’s afraid of my reaction if anything were to happen.

  7. “Jake had just casually offered his sister the use of his car without so much as blinking an eye and without want for anything in return.” Yet…..

    There’s also fun in providing solutions…. Good for him!

  8. wow! that is a shocker! I like that I don’t dislike my siblings anymore. It’s hard to imagine what growing up would have been like had we never fought, though my brother and I got a lot closer when we got to high school

Leave a Reply

