Life is Good – March 4, 2011

Living in Minnesota, where it snows 360 days of the year* and the sun shines an average of 1.25 days per month*, it is easy to start feeling down. The bed, with its comfy pillows and snuggly blankets begins to look more inviting every day. If you’re not careful, you’ll soon find yourself calling it a day within a half hour of coming home from work* and drifting off into a blissful slumber. When that dreaded alarm clock sounds the next morning, you’ll hit the snooze button 40 times* before finally dragging your cold bones out from under the covers again the next morning.

Yes, winter tends to take its toll (more so on some than others. I think you know which camp I’m in.) So you’ve got to find things that make you smile in spite of the frozen hell that persists outside the windows day in and day out.

It’s no secret that for me, the best weekly escape from the weather is bowling! As I mentioned earlier this week, I scored an all time high of 192 in one of my games on Saturday, which wasn’t nearly as exciting as the fact that I bowled five strikes in a row that game.

And believe it or not, going to work provides a nice distraction too. I enjoy what I do, and I enjoy the people with whom I work. We get along well and share a lot of laughs. Sometimes my coworkers don’t even know how funny they are to me. Yesterday, I saw Jason (not his real name) in the break room while I was heating up some oatmeal for breakfast and he was pouring himself a cup of coffee. We said good morning to one another, and he absently commented to me, “Oatmeal?”

“Yes,” I said. “It’s supposed to be good for you or something.” And then we each went our separate ways.

Later in the day, Jason and I crossed paths again. I offered a smile as he passed by me, while he was apparently compelled to say a few words. “How’d those oats go down?”

“Ummm… yeah. Good..,” I replied. And with that he was gone. Thank god, because I felt a serious case of the giggles coming on and there was no stopping them. “How’d those oats go down???”

Of course, my kids are an endless source of joy for me. (And I mean that both sarcastically and sincerely.) Yesterday Jake called me at work to voice a few complaints about his regimen of chores.

“I know that I have to do chores so I don’t have to pay rent and all,” he began. “But I’d really appreciate it if you guys didn’t make me do chores that require me to stick around the house.”

“I don’t understand,” I said. “Would you prefer to do the grocery shopping or something?”

“Mom,” he said in that can you please be serious voice. “Dad has me doing laundry and unloading the dishwasher.”

“Yeah?” I wasn’t seeing the problem.

“Well, I can’t leave the house because I have to wait for the dryer to finish and then fold the clothes in it.

“Okay,” I said. “Then get your stuff done and then you can leave the house.”

“Fine,” he said.

“Fine,” I said. I’m still not sure what he was thinking an acceptable alternative would be.

And then there’s Kacey. I walked into the living room this week to find her and Connor each laying on their side on the living room floor, facing one another. (At least an arms length apart, don’t worry.)¬†They were having an in-depth conversation with one another, and while I tried not to eavesdrop as I passed through, I could tell that he was excited about whatever it was he was telling her. I guess I was just so impressed because he had been at our house with her for hours already, and they’ve been dating for months, so the fact that they have so much to say to each other… still… well, it just seems so good. It’s young love, I know. But they seem to have a good handle on this relationship thing.

And finally? It’s Friday. Life is good.

*Facts and figures may be slightly exaggerated.

15 thoughts on “Life is Good – March 4, 2011

  1. You must have been feeling your oats yesterday. Another week in the bag and only 8 more hours until the weekend!

    Keep your chin up! Spring is just around the corner. Softball season is about to start back up.

    And, if Jake isn’t happy with the current list of chores, he could do something else like clean out the litter box or scrub the toilets.

  2. Good perspective as always Terri. Though I wish you would be more precise with your figures because I don’t believe for one second that you have as few as 360 days of winter. An old partner of mine who lived in the Twin Cities once told me that there are two seasons in Minnesota – Winter and Road Repair.

  3. I’m pretty sure when you left the room they started making out. LOL

    Whenever I read your posts lately I want to go bowling, but no one wants to join me. Boo! I need to beat these winter blues too. The snow has melted, to a nice mix of cold and rainy. Blegh.

  4. Winter is just a few weeks too long up there….on either end of the season: comes to early and hangs on too long. I think southern Illinois probably has it about right….though it gets really humid there in the summer.

  5. We have seasons in Miami too. Winter 150 degrees F, Spring 175 degrees F, summer 200 degrees F and fall 160 degrees F. Ever read Dante? We make his inferno look like an ice block.
    *Facts and figures may be slightly exaggerated(IT IS FAR MUCH HOTTER)

  6. I have to give Jake some credit though because at least he talked to you about the chores and his “problems” doing them. When I was working -and going to college full-time too, I would leave notes for the kids as to what I really needed them to do most days. Nothing drastic -throw a load of clothes in the washer, then the dryer- occasionally remind them to remember to bring the clothes upstairs too but usually I thought of that request as pretty much a given -and I’d come home to find not a blasted thing I’d asked them to do had been done and no one bothered to call me and grump about their chore list either! The nerve! Now they’re finding out a bit WHY I asked them to help out doing things like that for me cause they know how difficult it can be to get things coordinated and done in a reasonable time span. I consider their learning that lesson a bit late though to be my own form of revenge – my own, “See, I told you so!” Actually though, I’m still working on my son, trying to get a few things about managing a house/expenses/work, etc. across to him and he’s 37 now! (Slow learner maybe?)
    Loved the bowling scores though. Maybe the winter weather really energizes you more than you realize?

  7. Sounds like good ways to deal with the winter blahs! My mom always made us oatmeal on school days – it “sticks to your ribs”.

    You can tell Jake that I dry our clothes on the clothesline – would he prefer to wait for that? I’m impressed that he knows you’re supposed to fold clean clothes!

  8. Life is Good!! I like the ‘oats’ comment…It’s just subtle and weird enough to make one start the giggles. I love a case of giggles at work :)

  9. I work with a lot of funny people. Most of them are nearly that subtle, though. It’s a good thing I don’t work in an uptight office, or else we all would’ve been fired long ago.

Leave a Reply

