Too Fast

This was one of those weekends that went by too fast. Brad, Heather and Dacotah were here and have gone already. I’m not sure I’ll ever get used to the feeling of my son being  a visitor in his own house, but it was wonderful to have him here, if only for a couple of days.

 

No photos were taken this weekend, so this one from last summer will have to do.

 

They arrived Friday afternoon and got settled after the long drive. After a little down time, Brad wanted to go out to dinner, and Applebee’s was his pick of restaurants. Jake was scheduled to work and Kacey had plans with friends. They haven’t yet reached the stage in their relationship with their brother where they feel compelled to take a break from their usual routines when he’s home. Brad doesn’t seem to mind, and though it bothers me some, I know they will all eventually reach the point when they look forward to and make more effort towards spending time together.

The four of us – Heather, Brad, Mark and I – enjoyed a casual meal, catching up and sharing plenty of laughs. Afterwards the three of them wanted to go watch our friends’ son play in the varsity basketball game at the high school. I volunteered to stay home with Dacotah and the two of us bonded for a couple of hours while the others were gone. We played catch on the stairs. She sat at the top while I tossed her ball from down below and she bounced it back to me with her nose. After she got tired of the game, I sat on the living room floor, reading, with a fleece blanket over my legs. Dacotah cozied up, laying on the blanket and sometimes on top of me as well… she never has understood that she is not a lap dog. We all called it an early night after everyone returned from the game.

Saturday morning, while the other half of the household slept in, Brad, Heather and I sat together at the kitchen table and had coffee  and breakfast together. I couldn’t help but notice how well my son is growing into his role as an adult. He and Heather are clearly a good match for each other and I love to watch the way they interact with one another. They really seem to get each other. They’ve each learned to appreciate and take an interest in the other’s interests. They have an easy way of teasing one another and share a healthy sense of humor. It’s no secret these two are serious about one another, so I wasn’t surprised when they suggested it might finally be time for Mark and I to meet Heather’s parents. We’ll probably do that this summer.

Saturday was spent visiting Mark’s parents – at Brad’s request. He hasn’t seen his grandparents since New Year’s day and wanted to spend some time with them. Dacotah came too, since Mark’s parents are real dog lovers and would have been disappointed had she not come along. They spoiled her with dog treats while we all talked and watched a group of deer out the kitchen window eating from the feeder Mark’s dad keeps in the yard.

After our visit we ran a few errands. Mark and Brad went to the Verizon store to get Brad’s birthday present, a new cell phone, while Heather and I passed the time doing some shopping at a nearby J.C. Penney’s.

Later in the day, Mark and I left the kids to themselves for a bit and went off to join some of our bowling friends for dinner and drinks before bowling began. Brad and Heather came to the bowling alley not long after we’d arrived there, and I was proud to introduce them to everyone. Brad later said he had a good time and especially thought our bowling partner, Jim was very funny. (He is!)

The kids went home from the bowling alley as soon as the games ended, not wanting to leave Dacotah alone for too long. Mark and I stayed a while longer with the bowling crew, joining them at a nearby hole-in-the-wall bar before calling an end to our night. We had a good time there. We always have fun with this crowd. Everyone enjoys each other and we always seem to laugh so much my stomach hurts!

Megan thought it would be funny to pose in front of this neon sign and send this on to one of our bowling friends who wasn’t able to join us last night. These are just a few of the fun-loving crowd.

 

A fun-loving group!

 

Sunday morning arrived too soon, and Brad and Heather began preparing for their departure. It seemed like they just got here, and now it was time for them to leave again already. Even Brad thought so. As he was hauling Dacotah’s kennel out to the car, he stated forlornly, “This weekend went too fast.”

It’s always hard to say goodbye, but I’m glad he enjoys his visits home enough that he too feels they seem to pass too quickly. They’ll be back again for Easter for a nice long weekend and before you know it, summer will be here and I’ll have my boy back for a few months. I can’t wait!

14 thoughts on “Too Fast

  1. I know just how you feel. It’s that feeling I get when we’re on our way out of Phoenix, driving past my grandkids exit (yes, they have an exit … Exit 22 – Grandkids). But, I’d sure like to experience having my son BE a visitor in our house. Yes, I love him. Yes, I wish he’d find himself.

  2. Kids returning home for a visit, Applebees, JC Penney, bowling, watching high school basketball, curling up with the dog, it’s like your life is a Norman Rockwell painting come to life!!!

  3. Those weekend drive bys (visits from the kids) are getting way too short. At least you got some “me” time with Brad/Heather/Dacotah.

    Seems like Dacotah knows a dog person when she sees one. She’s the lap dog and Roxy is the over-the-shoulder one? They seem to gravitate to your direction.

  4. I know how you feel…:( Our daughter lives in France and our boys in the UK…and of course we are in Portugal. Sometimes, it is 6 months before we seem them…and then time flies too quickly.

    I am glad you enjoyed your weekend and Easter is not that long now :)

    cheers
    Pip

  5. Doesn’t it make you feel good though to hear Brad make a comment about the time passing way too quickly? At least you know then that you have a high place as does the rest of his family then, in his thoughts, in his mind.
    With my son and the job he has now -along with the new girlfriend who has taken up a big spot in his life and time -I generally try to plan a dinner every Sunday that will be at a time convenient for him as well as occasionally including my older daughter and her son (who live about 45 miles from us) so that my kids and I are generally together at least one day a week, although older daughter usually only is able to be with us one Sunday a month, most of the time. Keeps us having a united front I guess that way.

  6. I have mine home for spring break and the week has flown by. There’s never enough time. I won’t have my college girl back until mid-May. I know that the time will drag until she gets here for the summer. I wish she could come back for Easter, but she’ll be very busy at the college. So, I will just long for the summer.

    I’m so glad you had a wonderful time with Brad and Heather! Sometimes I still wonder where my little girl went, but I am happy with my adult daughter.

  7. It’s interesting seeing this from the other side…I was in Brad’s position not too long ago when I was in college. We try to see my parents at least every other month if not more frequently, and his parents just the same. I love family and wish we lived closer to our family members.

  8. Sounds like a great, relaxing weekend. Sounds like Brad, Heather, and Dacotah thought so too. I need to have one of those out at my parents’ house soon. There is no better place to relax than at your parents’ house.

Leave a Reply

