Meeting Kim

I am so lucky. For the second time this month, I’ve had the privilege of meeting a blog friend in person!

I first “met” Kim in my early days of blogging and we became fast friends. I liked Kim immediately for her positive attitude and ability to see the silver lining in any situation. In fact, she is the one who inspired me to write those weekly “Life is Good” posts, which I no longer write, which is not a reflection whatsoever on the state of my life. It is merely a reflection on my inability to stick with any kind of writing routine.

Kim writes the blog Worn Out Woman. She writes there rather infrequently these days, but who could blame her since she’s actually become a published author? Yep, you heard me right. Kim wrote a whole book! An amazing book! I thoroughly enjoyed Finding Kylie which is now on its way to becoming a Hallmark movie! You should totally get yourself a copy and read it. (Shameless plug for my friend’s book, I know.)

I have communicated with Kim online for years now. We’ve texted one another, kept up on Facebook, and have talked on the phone. But this was the first we’ve had a chance to meet. It was all very spur-of-the-moment, but we made it work! Kim was in town on business and when we figured out her hotel was a mere 20 minutes from me, we decided to get together.

Obligatory fuzzy cell-phone picture taken by our very bubbly waitress

I picked up Kim at her hotel and we made a quick drive over to the Mall of America where we found a place to eat. I couldn’t tell you the name of the restaurant. All I can tell you is that Kim and I took turns talking non-stop for the entire time we were together. We realized how much we have in common and it was so comfortable spending time with her, it was if I’d known her forever!

After dinner, we walked around the mall a bit, picked up a gift of Legos for her little guy at home, and proceeded to get lost while trying to find our way back out of the mall. Don’t worry. We weren’t lost for too long before things began to look familiar and we found our way to the place we’d first entered. Too soon, I was dropping Kim back at her hotel and we were saying goodbye. I feel like there wasn’t nearly enough time. I have so much more to tell her and there’s so much more I want to know about her. So I guess we’re just going to have to make this happen again!

25 thoughts on “Meeting Kim

  1. How wonderful to meet up wtih another blogging buddy! I’m scheduled to meet a blogging friend next month when she comes through town, so I’m excited to hear you had a few great opportunities to do this as well! Congratulations to you and to Kim on her Hallmark movie! So cool!
    Kathy

    Like

  2. I am impressed with the book writing guru you met in person. Wow. Millions of people want to write a book and a few actually do it and of those only a fourth of those are worth reading. So for the book to be good enough to be made into a Hallmark Movie says the book is outstanding. Glad you two hit it off in person as much as you have in emails, and phone conversations. Truthfully, I can’t think of anyone who would not be able to get along with your bubbly self.

    Like

  3. You realize of course now that Kim and I have set the precedent that ALL your blogging friends are going to be consumed with the desire to come to the Twin Cities and meet you in person because not only do they get to see that you are as sweet in person as in the virtual space but you get your blog promoted as well!

    Like

  4. Way cool! I’m jealous of you both! In all my years blogging, I’ve yet to meet a blogger friend in person. I should really do something about that. Maybe if I promise Legos??

    Looks like you had a fuzzy bubbly time!

    Like

  5. I loved reading Finding Kylie, and am really look forward to reading the sequel and seeing the movie. I’m very jealous of you both, but glad you got to hang out together.

    Like

  6. Glad you two got to meet in person. The folks that I have communicated with in relation to blogging have impressed me immensely with their compassion–strange since I started writing simply as a selfish thing to do.

    Have a good weekend.

    Like

  7. You got to meet up with not one, but two blogging friends? I am so jealous. I think it is outstanding you got to meet the people behind the blogs in face to face. With your humor, wit and smile, who wouldn’t like you. I agree with De-I, it looks like Minnesota is getting to be a regular stopover. I only hope to make it back up north at some point in my travels.

    I thought that, with the Tribal Blogs conference in Bloomington this weekend, a number of other famous bloggers would be in your general vicinity.

    Like

  8. I looked up the book on Amazon. It has got 20 amazing reviews!! Are they all you Terri masquerading as different people ? Lol
    Glad you had a nice meeting.
    I read in the newspaper yesterday there is a big Mummybloggers meet up in London this weekend .

    Like

  9. Congrats on another wonderful meet-up!!!

    I just ordered Kim’s book but don’t expect a review in the immediate future. I’ve got a serious tower of books that is screaming for my attention, and in theory I should play fair and first-in first-read ;-)

    Thanks sooooo much for the book recommendation! Off to check out her blog

    Like

  10. One of my high school classmates is “talking” with a “major publisher” to publish a book titled The 44 Virtues. That would be the first person i know to be published.

    Like

  11. That’s great! I know you had fun. I need to get back to writing up-beat stuff. I’ve been in a real funk lately.

    boy, do I remember the Mall of America … what a huge place! Roller coaster and all! I remember I was there on Halloween and it snowed that night. You don’t think about snow down here until at least late December, LOL.

    — Judson

    Like

  12. Wow … a blogger that actually published a book. How incredible.

    You haven’t been around … writing or reading … for a while. I hope everything is OK.

    Bud

    Like

  13. Kim is awesome. I spoke with her over the phone a couple years ago after her book was released. She wanted to get a “guy’s take” on it. :)

    She’s a very sweet lady, and I’m glad you two were able to get together. Sounds like you had a good time.

    I guess Julia and I are going to have to find an excuse to road trip up north at some point. :P

    Like

Leave a Reply

