The Fate of the Ginormous Zucchini

Have I ever mentioned that we have a garden in our back yard? And when I say we, I really mean Mark. Mark has a garden and Mark actually does more of the gardening work than I do. He plants the garden. He waters the garden. He … makes the kids weed the garden. He harvests the crops.

I eat things that come out of the garden. Unless those things are green beans. So that’s my contribution to the gardening. Eating. I’m helpful that way.

This year I requested that Mark plant some zucchini. I like to slice it up and grill it with a little olive oil and seasoning salt. So Mark planted zucchini for me. Last week, he suggested that I go pick my zucchini because he thought it was probably ready for picking. I said I would. But I didn’t.

A few days later, Kacey suggested I go pick my zucchini because she thought it was ready for picking. She said it was getting big. I said I would pick it, but I didn’t.

A few days after that, I came home to find that they had grown tired of waiting for me to pick my zucchini and they did it for me. And when they said it was getting big …

Cherry tomatoes added for perspective's sake!

“Big” may have been a slight understatement. I wasn’t even sure it was edible anymore, so I consulted the all-knowing Google and as it turns out, you can eat ginormous zucchini. It’s recommended that once your zucchini attains the circumference of a football, it is best used for baking.

We like baked goods!

Interesting fact about zucchini … once peeled, it sweats!

Ginormous zucchini, glistening with zucchini sweat

I perused my vast collection of church cookbooks for a zucchini bread recipe and found one that would make two good-sized loaves.

Delicious zucchini baked goodness!

And as it turns out, Google was right! Ginormous zucchini does make delicious baked goods. It was spectacular, sliced while still warm and served with a generous amount of real butter.

YUM!

I’ll share the recipe with you, but if you’re not into doing your own baking, you’re going to have to find your own 18 year-old kid who loves to bake to do it for you. Mine is not available.

Zucchini Bread

  • 4 C shredded zucchini
  • 2 1/2 C sugar
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 C vegetable oil
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

Blend all ingredients on low speed mixer for 1 minute. Beat on medium for 1 minute. Bake for 50 minutes to an hour at 325 degrees. Cool for 10 minutes. Remove from pans. Makes 2 large loaves.

Happy eating!

20 thoughts on “The Fate of the Ginormous Zucchini

  1. Home grown veggies are the best! Good for you to use the zucchini right away. I read on a cooking blog that she shreds zucchini and puts in baggies and freezes it to have during winter. Hooray for your husband to plant and care for the garden.

  2. Eating of the gardener’s produce is an honored role in many cultures. We here in New Mexico are acolytes of the role. I hadn’t heard of the shredded zucchini idea TechnoBabe posted about. Lately some sort of worm has been wreaking havoc on all squashy things. But there was a time when our approaching a home with a bag (filled with excess zucchini) was cause for people to pull out their shotguns. Our daughter who was living here at the time use to accuse us of midnight, drive-by zucchini drops. But she could never prove anything.

    • Kacey walked over to my parents’ house with one of her zucchini breads and now the neighbors are begging for some of the excess zucchini!

      The tomatoes seem to be struggling here… except for the cherry variety.

  3. Our entire garden is suffering this year — too much heat, too little rain, I suppose. Still, veggies just seem to taste better when they come out of your own garden — minus the zucchini. I never could handle that. In fact, one year we had one get so big we tossed it to the dog, who promptly turned it into a toy!

  4. I’m not into gardening, but I am into fresh vegetables! And your zucchini look awesome! I’m looking forward to trying your recipe cuz it may be the only way to get my kids to eat zucchini. Maybe I will ask my 12 year old daughter to bake it for us… if I dare… after all, I know what my kitchen will look like when she’s done. :)

  5. I love zucchini bread! I don’t know that I would eat the vegetable in any other form, but the bread is delicious! Congrats on your monstrous creations

  6. Glad your giant Zucchini was put to use and I can relate to just being the eating part of gardening.

    The Mrs. usually makes zucchini bread in the fall, and it is a big hit here.

  7. Last year we grew a load of these and used them (over several weeks!) in an Italian recipe we found – peeled and cooked in an Italian tomato sause with bits of bacon added. Wonderful!

    Not sure I like the sound of bread made out of it, but I will take your word that it was good. Thinking further, though, I once had beetroot bread and that was very good too! OK, I might give this a try!

  8. Oh, goodness. My mouth is watering after looking at that picture!

    I love gardening, but until I move out of apartment living, it’s going to be a memory and an aspiration instead of a reality. (I figure here in SoCal I’ll have the down payment for a house around the time I’m 72 . . . !)

  9. Mandy went on a “Suzie Homemaker” binge last week and one day, she made a pan of blueberry muffins (Maya ate one I think, Kurtis took a nibble and declared he didn’t like ‘em though. Kids have no taste, ya know!) In addition to the muffins, that same day she baked a loaf of banana nut bread plus a loaf of blackberry-banana-nut bread-both turned out very good. Then she decided to tackle zucchini and make some zucchini bread. That, sadly, didn’t turn out quite the way it should as the lady who gave her the recipe said she didn’t drain the zucchini properly because of the sweating thing. Sheesh. I never knew that! (But then, I’ve never made zucchini bread but I do love it.) We generally either cook the zucchini in a little butter in the microwave -sliced, of course. Or,stuff it and bake it with a ground beef and tomato sauce with a bit of cheese on top of it.Yummy! Again though, it’s a big meal for me and Mandy to make that because the kids take one look at it and declare immediately, “I don’t like that!” ARRGH! Hope they soon outgrow this picky, picky phase!

  10. Oh my gosh, that looks so good!!!
    I was going to say that Zucchini that sized probably works better for grilling ’cause it’ll stand up to the heat and the grate better, but I didn’t know it might not be edible that size.
    Nevertheless, I think zucchini bread is awesome and I am very jealous!

  11. Yum!! And for an added twist you can add some chocolate chips. Why do I tell you this? Because with a ginormous garden … you’re sure to have more ginormous zucchini!!

    Cheers! MJ

  12. Looks yummy! I’ve done the same thing. Husband is the gardner, I’m supposed to do something with the harvests. We’ve had a few baseball bat zucchinis.

    When they get that big, I shred them and use them for baking – storing extra shreddage in the freezer and then covertly putting it in casseroles and other baking. It’s a lot of shredding though, it would be easier if I’d just pick it before it gets ginormous.

    I’m wanting some zucchini bread now, thanks for your recipe!

  13. I love zucchini bread too!!! I also love it baked…I’m trying to remember what’s in it. The parents of a guy I use to date baked it in the oven with stuff in it, and now I can’t remember what it was, but it was delicious. I have a zucchini cookbook, but haven’t seen big enough zucchinis at the supermarket to try anything. Maybe next year I’ll plant my own!

Leave a Reply

