Laying on Beds

Mark and I ran some errands after work today. First it was off to a local bowling alley. Not one of my two regular bowling alleys, but the new one where our Saturday league will be moving next season. I’m in charge of Fun Night for the Saturday league again and it’s this weekend. And it will be the most fun Fun Night ever! I made a game where we’ll bowl 9-Pin No Tap for three games. Strikes are worth one point and spares are worth two. As soon as a bowler accumulates fifteen points, they get to come claim a prize envelope. Most bowlers will win five dollars, but a few others will win more.

I wanted to make Fun Night even more fun, so we went to the new bowling alley tonight and talked to the manager. I said, “Hey, our league is coming to your bowling alley next year and I wondered if you’d donate a few free food coupons or something for me to use as prizes for our Fun Night this weekend.”

The manager said, “Sure, I’ll give you some freebies.” And he donated – for every bowler in our league – a pass good for three free games of bowling for up to four players. And then to top it off, he donated what equates to a bowling party. It was a certificate for three free games of bowling for twelve people, plus free shoe rental.

I was so excited! These are great prizes. I thanked the manager profusely for his generosity! Remind me to send him a thank-you card.

After the bowling business was taken care of, we went to check out new mattresses. We need a new mattress. Ours is eighty bajillion years old, or maybe not quite. But it’s old. I’m a side sleeper and I sleep on my left shoulder. I can’t help it. Even if I fall asleep in a different position, I eventually end up on my left side. And when I wake up, my shoulder hurts. And Mark said he was looking into buying a sprinkler system for the yard, and I said, “Well if you get a sprinkler system, then I want a new mattress.” So being the good husband that he is, he took me to look at mattresses because he figured it was a small price to pay for a sprinkler system.

We went to the local furniture store where they sell indoor furniture and outdoor furniture and mattresses. We wandered our way into the mattress section and after perusing mattresses aimlessly for a few minutes, a nice sales-woman asked if she could help us. Mark said, “Can you show us where those… ummm… something-pedic mattresses are?”

And she willingly showed us the way to the something-pedic mattresses with the memory foam that contains cooling gel so you won’t get too hot while sleeping. I wasn’t sure how I felt about a memory foam mattress. I have a memory foam pillow. I like it alright. I use it when my neck hurts and then I go back to my pile of regular pillows until my neck hurts again. But laying my whole body on memory foam? It just doesn’t seem right. Mattresses are supposed to be bouncy, aren’t they?

Mark was fascinated by the memory foam. He played with the sample pieces that the store puts out so you can see what’s really inside the mattress. The sales woman was telling us how much she loved her something-pedic mattress. She said to go ahead and lay on some of the mattresses.

Mark sat on a bed and laid back, letting his feet dangle on the floor. “Hey, this feels pretty good,” he said. “Try it.”

I took my shoes off and climbed fully onto the mattress. If I was going to test it out, I wasn’t going to pussy-foot around. I got on my left side and curled my legs up a little. I liked it. I really liked it.

“Wake me up in an hour,” I said to Mark. He looked embarrassed and said, “I can’t take you anywhere.”

While the sales woman continued to talk about all of the benefits of the something-pedic mattresses, I continued trying out beds of varying firmness. I found one I really liked and called Mark over to try it out. The sales woman said it was the best-selling mattress of the brand we were considering.

We continued to lay on the bed while the sales woman talked. Mark asked if the mattress would keep him from tossing and turning so much. She promised it would. I asked if it would keep Mark on his own side of the bed. I pushed him toward the other side as I asked it. She said she couldn’t guarantee it. Mark said I was embarrassing him. The sales woman said, “Oh, that’s not embarrassing. You wouldn’t believe some of the things I’ve seen in this line of work. I’ve seen it all.”

We agreed that details were not necessary.

Mark asked if the mattress would work with our existing frame. The sales woman said it would. I said, “Wait a minute. I wanted to get a bigger bed this time. I was thinking king size.”

Mark said, “We don’t need a king size bed. There’s plenty of room for two in a queen. Make Lucy go sleep somewhere else if you don’t have enough room.”

“Why don’t you go sleep somewhere else,” I suggested.

We were quickly getting sold on this bed. Mark finally thought to ask how long they were on sale. Because we had gone there due to the mattress sale.

“Oh these aren’t on sale,” the sales woman said. “The ones out front are on sale, but not these.”

“Well I guess we don’t have to make a rush decision if they’re not on sale right now,” Mark said.

“These never go on sale,” the sales woman said.

“Oh,” we said. That was interesting.

“How much is this one,” I asked? I was already having visions of blissfully restful nights in that bed.

“It’s $@,*&%,” she said.

“Yikes,” I said. It was a lot of money for a bed. But of course, we were now so sold on the bed that we weren’t quite ready to walk away from it.

“Just out of curiosity,” Mark said, “How much is the top of the line bed in the competing brand?”

“$13,000.”

Thirteen. Thousand. Dollars. For a bed. I don’t know. All I can think is you’d have to have some serious sleep issues to be willing to spend $13,000 on a bed. And you know I had to lay on it after hearing that. It felt good. But thirteen thousand dollars good? I don’t know. I made Mark go lay on it. He did the dangly legs thing again while he laid on his back. I said, “It’s a thirteen thousand dollar bed! Go for the gusto! Get your whole body up there!”

But he wouldn’t do it. He’s not adventurous like me.

Of course, the one we liked didn’t seem quite so outrageously priced now. We said we’d go home and think about it. We took the sales woman’s card because we want to work with her when  if we go back to purchase the bed. She was knowledgeable and she played along with our antics and besides, we just liked her.

As we walked out, Mark was saying how he would really love to have that bed.

“But it’s a lot of money.”

“And you know we have to have new bedding if we get a new bed,” I said. “I’ll start looking.” (See how I did that? I’m getting a new mattress.)

20 thoughts on “Laying on Beds

  1. HA! We did the tempur-pedic, and it was awfully comfy, but dang, we’d have to set the alarm three hours ahead to blast ourselves out of there each day! And the one we looked at (king size) was $6100! More than twice my first car! More than my first NEW car! I just couldn’t do it. And yes, they NEVER go on sale. And you won’t find them cheaper anywhere else. Those prices are apparently regulated by Sealy.

    We ended up with a Simmons Beautyrest I think – still was $2100 and made me cry, but I do have to admit that I sleep MUCH better now. And that is apparently worth that cost!

    And yes, new sheets are a must, if not the whole schamoley!

    Like

  2. God, you crack me up, Terri. How funny. Who knew it cost so much to sleep. Yikes. Sara and I SOOOOO need a new mattress–plus we want to replace our queen with a king. Guess we may have to wait a while longer.

    Sorry to have missed your blog this weekend. Was in Nashville for the Very Bloggy Wedding. My newest post shares the photos. Tori was so goreous!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Like

  3. Ya’ll are starting to sound like an old married couple (just like us). Mattresses ain’t cheap but I guess it’s important to find just the right one that you are willing “to get in bed with” for a long while. We’re starting to consider a new one as well, but it will have to get in line with the other “projects” (new driveway, sprinkler system, new flooring, etc.). Of course, if you do get a new mattress, I assume new bedroom furniture might be next in line?

    Like

  4. I’d have a hard time spending that much money on a mattress, but I know that you need to spend SOME to be able to sleep comfortably – especially as we get older. I sleep on my right side, with my arm tucked under my head and my shoulder and elbow hurt everyday! And like you, no matter how I start out, I end that way. So let me know if your new mattress, WHEN you get it, helps your arm. :)
    P.S. Do you think Mark will take you sprinkler shopping with him? I mean, considering how well-behaved you are when you shop. :)

    Like

  5. We got one of those sleep number beds – the ones that are really just big ass air matresses that allow you to adjust the hardness for both people independently. It wasn’t crazy expensive and we’ve really loved them. I think we’ve had ours for 5 or 6 years now.

    Like

  6. That’s a LOT of money for something you just sleep on, Terri, but look at it like this — you probably spend a third of your day (8 hours) sleeping, so that alone makes it a worthwhile investment. Besides, who wants to spend the other two-thirds of your day in pain?

    Like

  7. Oh how nice of the manager at the new bowling alley! Super cool. And I have NO DOUBTS your Fun Night WILL be the best ever!

    I have the memory foam that keeps you cool mattress and I am IN LOVE with it. The only downside is that I am so spoiled because of it, I cannot sleep ANY WHERE ELSE!

    However, they are VERY expensive. But you get what you pay for and mine was worth EVERY cent!

    So wait, are you getting the memory foam that keeps you cool mattress??!!

    Like

  8. Thirteen THOUSAND? Wow. So that’s how the other half lives… or sleeps. Our older 2 have memory foam. I’m tempted…

    Good going on the bowling freebies!

    Like

  9. Although I really could use a new mattress for my bed here, at the price of those things -even the el cheapo ones -I guess I’m stuck forever with the one I’ve got now. Better start buying some lottery tickets again I guess and pray that one of ‘em finally wins big for me! Thirteen Thousand, huh? Phew! Even if I’d hit the really big super jackpot lottery I don’t think I’d spring that much for a mattress. My Scottish ancestry would be causing mega tics on me for sure I think!

    Like

  10. You are so right to try the bed out. A new bed is a huge investment, not only in money but if the mattress does not help with a good rest, it is just another expense. I bought a sleep number bed about ten years ago and with all my moves since then, I drag that bed with me every move. I can replace all the other furniture easier than a bed that helps me get a good sleep. You are so funny, you are already thinking about new bedding.

    Like

  11. Wow, that’s a ton of money. I bought a VERY reasonably priced memory foam mattress. Keep looking at other stores. I think I bought it at Back to Bed. Just a thought.

    Like

  12. Maybe it’s the hippie in me, but I sleep on a King waterbed. Not the “old style” that roll but a semi-waveless. 90% waveless I think. A lot less then 13,000, and it does conform to my body.

    Like

  13. LOL… “something-pedic mattresses.” That’s something I would say.

    Go for it! Think of it as an investment for your comfort. Maybe I should look into getting a new mattress for our bed. Jules’s back and neck are always in a constant state of %#@&ery, so maybe a something-pedic mattress would help her condition.

    Don’t forget to send a thank-you card to the bowling alley guy. There! I did my duty and reminded you, as you asked. :)

    Like

  14. Why are mattresses so expensive?? Ours is still good for now…my neck and back tend to be stiff when I wake up, but different pillow types have helped. Good luck with your bed pursuit!!!

    Like

  15. Funny thing is, even before finishing the post when I read the part about a new mattress being a “small price to pay” for a new sprinkler system, I thought, “but you haven’t had a new mattress for eighty bajillion years. Mattresses are not a small price to pay. Period.”

    I’ve always thought those “something-pedic” mattress sounded strange too, but I’m thinking I might consider one when I’m in the market next (which if my achy joints are any indication will be soon).

    And you toally need a King size bed. A queen size bed is just not big enough for two people and a husband– er, two people and a dog. ;)

    Enjoy your new bed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

