Runner

Early morning sky

I’ve always been an early riser. I especially love when I’m awake early enough to see the sky come to life.

Lately I’ve been going outside a few mornings a week to run. I gave up running over a year ago because I just couldn’t figure out what it was that I was supposed to like about it. It certainly wasn’t the lack of stamina or the side aches. And that runner’s high thing? Never felt it. So I quit. Recently I began feeling that I wanted to give running another try, but I didn’t know if I’d be any more successful this time around than the last time I tried to be a runner. It’s been a couple of weeks now and I’m doing it. I’ve found a route that I like with an even mix of uphill, downhill and level stretches. I’m not fast and I haven’t conquered great distances, but there is no doubt. I am running!

I checked the pedometer after the last run I did and it said I went three and a half miles. I’m happy with that. I haven’t mentioned the running much to anyone, mostly because I was afraid I would only be reminded again that I just couldn’t do it. But I talk to Joe at work about it. Joe finished the Twin Cities Marathon last year and he inspires me. Joe says he runs simply because he enjoys the physical act of running. I found that intriguing at first, but am starting to get what he means. Joe is very encouraging too. He suggested I read a book he just read and loved, Born to Run. He said it is sure motivate me to run even more. I’m putting it on my to-read list.

Another coworker who is an avid runner overheard Joe and me talking one day. I was telling him that I’d run enough times and with enough success that I thought it justified buying a new pair of shoes.  Our coworker asked what we were talking about. Joe hitched his thumb toward me and with a big smile on his face, simply said to her, “Runner!”

I was sort of surprised and wanted to argue with him, but I realized that if Joe thought I was a runner, maybe it was true.

So I guess I can admit that I’m a runner. And I look forward to going out while it’s still dark outside, with just a hint of dawn on the horizon. And by the time I get back home, I can take a few minutes to sit out on my deck and enjoy the exhilaration of the run I’ve just finished while watching the sky bring on another day.

14 thoughts on “Runner

  1. Now your gettin’ why we enjoy it so much! :)
    I’ve read Born To Run, and although I haven’t tried the shoes, the book is very inspiring. I think you’ll like it.

  2. Yeah, I think you have to enjoy the act of running itself to actually keep at it. I do it for weight maintenance issues (a concern you clearly don’t have) and it’s good for me to be active during the week for when I play softball on the weekends. I’m looking at new shoes too…..I’m thinking New Balance.

  3. Lovely picture. I ran for some 30 years before multiple muscle and joint issues caused me to give it up. Never liked it the whole time. Did it because it was a time efficient way of exercising.

  4. There is a certain zen to running. Everyone has their reasons for running. I do it to keep the lbs off, and relieve stress. You don’t have to be a sprinter or marathon runner to enjoy it.

  5. I started running to lose weight last year, and for the most part, it felt like daily punishment that I’d let myself get out of shape. It wasn’t until recently that I ran and enjoyed it. Actually enjoyed it. I am slow and sloppy and my neighbors probably mistake my heavy breathing for a rabid bear on the loose, but I am running and having fun doing it :)

  6. Don’t worry about labels, “runner” vs. “non-runner”. Don’t worry about making comparisons with yourself and other runners, just do what feels right (like getting some shooz). I agree with Joe. I run simply because I enjoy it. And, like you, I love being outside early in the morning before the rest of the world wakes up.

    Something’s gone wrong in my foot and I haven’t run in 2 weeks. OH, how I miss it!

  7. Well I still think of you as a runner too – I remember you writing about it a lot a while back!

    Now, what you want is voice recognition on your laptop so you can dictate your blog as you run. Wouldn’t that be cool?

  8. Now I do think Rock Chef has a good point there about running and dictating your blog posts then simultaneously. If you get too caught up in the running, where will you find the time to write for us? But although I am most definitely NOT a runner, not even a loyal walker really for that matter, when I think of you and your many talents, I often do picture you in my mind’s eye, doing your running so maybe you are really, REALLY a runner, huh?

  9. I don’t consider myself a runner..though i would like to maybe go for a leisure run sometime soon. Maybe. Let us know how the book is. If it’s any good maybe I’ll read it too and then it will inspire me to get outside and run around the neighborhood. :)

    Oh and I think new shoes are always okay, especially when you’ve been dubbed a Runner by the office marathon guy.

Leave a Reply

