Granola Galore!

I was trying to figure out, does the granola I make taste so good because I make it myself? Or is it really just that good?

I just wanted to make something healthy for myself to eat for breakfast. A friend had mentioned she made her own. She explained that her homemade variety had much less sugar than the commercial brands. That appealed to me and I figured if she could make her own, I could do the same. I bought a few ingredients and then looked for a recipe that fit the things I’d purchased. (I’m a little backwards that way sometimes.) I found one that worked, modified it to suit my own tastes and it turned out good! It was kind of pretty to look at too! I ate it for breakfast for a few days and decided it really was that good. Way better than the store-bought kind.

Heather tried it when she and Brad were here for the weekend and she loved it. I decided to make some for her to take back home. And then I realized my own batch was gone, so Sunday night I ended up making my third batch of homemade granola that week. Mark called home from work and asked what I was doing. When I explained about the granola he asked, “You’re not taking it all to work, are you?”

“Um, yeah. I was planning on it. Why?”

“I liked it. It’s good to snack on. Can you leave some at home?”

So that’s why it had disappeared so quickly!  I told Mark I’d leave some home for him. And before I could take my own container to work the next morning, Kacey poured herself a bowl and ate it before leaving for her own job. Who would have thought that my family of junk-food lovers would get so excited over my “healthy” food?

I’ve since replenished my supply of ingredients. Now Mark wants to know if I can make it into bars for easier snacking. Clearly I’ll be making more and doing so often!

Bake and stir and bake some more…

Ingredients

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 2 cups coarsely chopped pecans (or cashews or slivered almonds or a mixture of whatever nuts you like)
  • 3/4 cup shredded sweet coconut
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup raisins (or golden raisins or dried cranberries or a combination any of these)

Directions

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F. In a large bowl, combine the oats, nuts, coconut, and brown sugar. In a separate bowl, combine maple syrup, oil, and salt. Combine both mixtures and pour onto 2 sheet pans. Cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes to achieve an even color. Remove from oven and transfer into a large bowl. Add raisins and mix until evenly distributed.

Mix in the raisins after the granola has cooled.

Pour in a bowl. Pour in some milk and enjoy!

26 thoughts on “Granola Galore!

  1. Ooooh. Makes me want to take up baking again. I really like the coconut/brown sugar/maple syrup combination. Of course the raisins take it over the top. I can see why it doesn’t last very long around the house. I am not one to to improve on perfection but would you consider adding yogurt as a base instead of milk?

    Like

  2. This looks delicious!! I’ll definitely be trying it, but I need to wait til winter. Our weather is STILL above 100 degrees everyday! I couldn’t possibly have my oven on for that long. But this winter….. mmmm! I bet it makes your house smell good too!

    Like

    • I guess it does counteract the air conditioning just a bit, but the oven is only set at 250, so the heat is not overwhelming. Yes, it does make the house smell good. Probably not as good as when you make your cupcakes! :-)

      Like

  3. This looks really good. I agree that some commercial granola has a lot of sugar. It is so much smarter and delicious to do it yourself. Thanks for sharing the recipe…I can’t wait to try the recipe out!

    Like

  4. Looks great – I don’t eat the bought stuff because it always seems so hard – sometimes I fear for my teeth!

    Home made stuff is often so much better than stuff that is made to last a few months on a shelf, both in taste and nutrition. Just resist the urge to add choc chips and other bad stuff :-)

    Like

  5. Well, first I think it’s funny how everyone else was scarfing down YOUR granola almost faster than you could make it. And how you look for recipes after you’ve bought the necessary ingredients!

    This looks and sounds really good. I don’t buy granola because it’s too sweet for my taste, but I’m going to try this one. Like SR300, though, my oven is in summer hibernation.

    Like

  6. That looks good and the recipe sounds good and relatively easy to make too. I’ll have to print this out, save it to my little cookbook (the one our church group put out last year) that has a 3-ring binder and I can easily add recipes to it too that way! Thanks for the cooking tip!

    Like

  7. Oh I was hoping you would put the recipe in there. I”m going to try that!!!!! It looks amazing and I’m always up for a homemade healthier version of store-bought stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

