Bowling Skillz!

I just couldn’t let this one go by without a mention -

My summer bowling team has achieved first place!

1st Place, Baby!

That’s us – Well Oiled - up there in the yellow highlight. Have I mentioned this year’s team name? I think I might have. It was a compromise after much discussion. Team member Preacher Dave who is not really a preacher insisted we have a “good” team name this year. We didn’t let new member Troy participate in the team name choosing because he’s the new guy. Also, I don’t think he cared. Dave had lots of ideas but I rejected all of his potential team names due to the fact that they all contained the F-word and/or references to sex. Dave is a highly intelligent man. He’s an architectural engineer who owns his own business. I think his use of naughty words at the bowling alley makes him feel as if he’s rebelling just a little bit. I think Dave’s inner bad boy comes out at the bowling alley. And if his wife knew the team names he suggested, she would beat the crap out of him. Dave would say he could take her. I’ve met her. She totally could beat the crap out of him. But Dave is constantly defending his toughness, saying he may be thin, but he’s “wiry.”

I’ll let you be the judge. Preacher Dave – Intimidating or not?

 

I’m pretty sure I could take him. In fact I punched him last night. He punched me first. But he was the only one who grabbed his shoulder and whined, “OWWW!”

Anyway, this first place business … I was actually shocked to see this. I read the standings and then hollered over to Dave, “Hey, guess what place we’re in!”

“Ummm, I dunno. Twelfth?”

(Twelfth place is actually a legitimate guess. Trust me.)

So when I revealed that we were actually in first place, he insisted I take a picture and text-message it to Troy who was absent due to being on a fishing vacation in Canada. Fishing in Canada over bowling? Where are the man’s priorities.

And actually, I should clarify that we were in first place for one lovely week, but lost that honor straight-away when we got our butts handed to us last night. So you can see why it was so important to make note of the prestigious but fleeting first place honors.

Oh well. We don’t bowl for the prestige. We bowl for the fun of it. And we are really good at having fun. Unfortunately, there’s no ranking system for being fun. So you’ll just have to take my word for it.

18 thoughts on “Bowling Skillz!

  1. Now, Terri, quit beating up on your team mates. Was he able to pick up the spare?
    I like the Well Oiled name, but I would have probably voted for a few of Dave’s suggestions. Congrats on 1st place.

    Like

  2. Uh oh. A little part of me started to miss bowling while reading this. This can’t happen! I’ve already determined I am taking the year off!
    The name is perfect… a little bad, but not “f-word” bad! I like it!
    I’m happy you enjoyed first place while it lasted! You’re probably coming up on the last weeks of summer bowling, right??

    Like

  3. Funny stuff Terri. I am glad you all have so much fun with that–sure seems like a great place to relax and forget stress. I don’t see Dave’s biceps bulging from his shirt, but my law enforcement training forces me to treat everyone as an “unknown risk.”

    Congrats on the brief hold on first place.

    Like

  4. Congrats on hitting first place!

    That name is good – can be taken several ways which is always entertaining.

    Of course, I still think that Gutter Sluts is the best name ever…

    Like

  5. Wait… “Team Suck”? Oh well, nobody remembers second place.

    Congratulations on taking the top spot if only for a week! “Well Oiled” seems fitting, and Preacher Dave’s squeaky clean reputation has now gone in the gutter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

