You’re never too old to carve a jack-o-lantern

Kacey and Connor came home from school for the weekend. Both were craving some home cooking! Connor’s grandma made him a special meal of barbecued ribs. Kacey had asked for Mexican Chicken Corn Chowder. She got her wish too.

While at the grocery store on Friday night to pick up some of the necessary ingredients, Kacey mentioned that she wanted to carve pumpkins. Her friend, Amanda was home from her school for the weekend and they wanted to make a little party of it. So we bought chowder ingredients and pumpkins.

Saturday afternoon, the kids gathered at the kitchen table and went to work.

Scoopin’ the “guts” out

Kacey generated a pattern on the computer for her pumpkin.

Connor worked on a shape of the state of Minnesota.

Amanda created a pretty elaborate spider web pattern.

I made a caramel corn snack mix while the kids worked.

Proof that you’re never too old to have this kind of fun.

The finished jack-o-lanterns

The kids talked while they worked. Amanda is having boyfriend problems and she didn’t seem to mind my presence as Kacey and Connor offered her sympathy and advice. I marveled over the fact that they are grown-up enough to be in love, grown-up enough to offer mature perspectives to one another, grown-up enough to manage college and vote and balance a checking account, and yet, they could still make an afternoon out of pumpkin carving. Once again, I was reminded how lucky I am to have such good “kids” in my life.

15 thoughts on “You’re never too old to carve a jack-o-lantern

  1. Gosh, I hope we’re never too old for jack-o-lanterns. That’s my plan for this afternoon!
    I’m sure the “kids” looked forward to and enjoyed this cozy weekend as much as you did. Great carvings! And, I’m glad you let us know that that is the state of Minnesota, or I admit that I would’ve been scratching my head!

    Like

  2. I was totally okay not even buying pumpkins this year, but seeing this post reminds me of how fun it was to carve them – especially as the kids got older. They were always more creative and adept at carving than I was.
    Love the caramel corn snack mix you made! I made some with almond bark and candy corn that was yummy, but this looks even better!

    Like

  3. What a warm and fuzzy post, Terri! You’re blessed the “kids” wanted to come home and be kids again; they’re blessed they have a loving, accepting place to come to. Win-win, you know?!

    Like

  4. Lovely time had by all. BTW, my hubby and I never had kids, and we’ve carved pumpkins on our own, just the two of us. We don’t do it every Halloween, but on the occasional year when the mood strikes us. Your kids and this blog just got me in the mood. :-)

    Like

  5. All three pumpkins are winners. Nice photos and some day when you look through the photos of your kids’ college years, you will remember how sensible and special they were even then.

    Like

  6. What a great way to spend the weekend! We haven’t carved jack-o-lantern’s in years and with today’s realistic looking carvings, I am not sure I have the skills for that kind of artwork. They did a great job. Nice way to enjoy the weekend time with the kids.

    Like

  7. Your kids are like mine in that they are happy to be kids – not feeling the pressure to give up some things that they love because they think they are too old. I think it is a sign of great parenting. Either that or we have both messed up big time :-)

    Like

  8. Pingback: Living Through Bloggers | Lori's Lane

Leave a Reply

