Christmas Calm

2012 Christmas TreeI woke up this morning while it was still dark outside. The dogs followed me to the back door and when I opened the blinds, I was greeted by the sight of huge, fluffy white snowflakes drifting gently down from the sky. Even Lucy and Bella, normally hyper and anxious to go outside after a long night’s sleep, stopped a moment to appreciate this scene.

I feel like I’ve been going non-stop for the past month; a combination of work stuff and the preparation for the holidays. I was still rushing around just yesterday, picking up a few last-minute things and wrapping gifts for my family.

Now Christmas is upon us. As soon as the family celebrations begin tonight, I expect it will all pass in a blur, as it always does. So I’m grateful for this quiet morning, taking some time to just sit by the Christmas tree and breathe. For a few moments anyway, there are no worries, no rushing… just an appreciation for how blessed I am.

Merry Christmas, my friends and family!

17 thoughts on “Christmas Calm

  1. It is nice to enjoy the piece and quiet before the mayhem starts.

    May you and the entire tribe have a very Merry Christmas!

    Fröhliche Weihnachten und ein gutes neues Jahr !

    Like

  2. Merry Christmas Terri and family – all of the best to you in 2013 – another year of blessings to you all! The flakes were beautiful and peaceful and now they look to be ending :{

    Like

  3. Merry Christmas to you and your family as well, Terri. We just may get some snow on Christmas night…. it’s the talk of the town. Something about snow brings a feeling of peace, doesn’t it? Perfect for Christmas.

    Like

  4. Merry Christmas Terri, have a great time with your family. Enjoy your snow, we have torrential rain and floods! The weathermen got it wrong.

    Like

  5. Hope all the Christmas Celebrations were very enjoyable for you and your family. Would you believe it but I was baking Swedish Rye bread yesterday morning? (Christmas Eve) Took the last two loaves of bread out of the oven about 10 minutes before we had to leave to go to church! Talk about close timing, huh? Thankfully, the bread all turned out very good though as I had to take a loaf with me to church to give to an elderly good friend of mine and I always worry about whether the stuff is actually done okay when I plan to give bread as a little gift. Peace and have a great holiday week ahead now too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

